Boating Safety & Regulations
With our officers being charged with safety, protection and enforcement on our lake, we ask all resident members, guest and operators be aware of the following boating regulations:
A full copy of the Rules & Regulations is available on the Association home web page and can also be obtained by contacting the Spring Valley Lake Association office. Please remember that Public Safety officers will also enforce the California Harbor and Navigation codes as needed.
- The maximum speed for all vessels is 35 miles per hour (5.4.1) unless the following conditions apply:
- Any time when landward of the orange buoys (no-wake zones); during hours of darkness; when passing within 100 feet of any vessel that is capsized, being towed or within 100 feet of any downed skier; or within 200 feet of the swim beach area.
- All vessels must carry at least one personal flotation device for each person onboard while underway. Children under the age of 12 MUST wear a personal flotation device at all times while aboard any vessel.
- Vessels may not be loaded beyond the manufactures specifications.
- Personal watercraft may not tow a skier or any other recreation devices at any time.
- No vessels may follow within 200 feet of a skier, nor shall they follow or jump in the wake of any vessel at any time.
- A red/orange flag will be raised anytime a skier is preparing to ski, a skier is down (being recovered), a tow-line is in the water, a vessel is being towed and/or anytime while trolling.
- Spring Valley Lake Association has a zero tolerance policy regarding boating while intoxicated. While the law allows for operators and their passengers to consume alcohol while in a moving vessel, any operator who is above .08 percent blood alcohol content or impaired to a point where they are unable to safely operate a vessel will be subject to a citation from the Public Safety Department, investigation and/or arrest by the California Highway Patrol or San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department and possible suspension of lake privileges by the SVLA Board of Directors.
- All collisions must be reported to the Public Safety Department. Any incident resulting in death must be reported immediately via 9-1-1 to the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.
- In the event of an emergency or hazardous weather conditions Public Safety personnel will give the order to evacuate the lake and/or swim beach area. The lake evacuation siren may be used to assist in this process. Wailing sound: clear the lake; Steady sound: all clear.
- Spring Valley Lake has some time restrictions that differ from standard boating hours. Water skiing is allowed from 7:00 am to sundown; PWC’s are not permitted between 7 am and 10 am on weekends and holidays during the summer term and between 7 am and 8 am all other days.
- Any vessels operating during time of low-visibility must use appropriate navigation and anchor lighting.
- All vessels engaged in any towable recreational activities must have an observer that is at least 12 years of age in addition to the operator.